Cardiovascular Faculty Members Inducted into ASCI and AAP

Over the weekend, four Washington University School of Medicine Cardiovascular Division faculty were honored at induction ceremonies for professional associations.

April 21st, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, or ASCI held their induction ceremony for newly elected members. Drs. Karen Joynt Maddox, Stacey Rentschler, and Rajan Sah were inducted to the society.

The ASCI is a nonprofit medical honor society composed of more than 3,000 physician-scientists from all medical specialties. The Society is dedicated to the advancement of research that extends understanding of diseases and improves treatment, and members are committed to mentoring future generations of physician-scientists.

Founded in 1908, the ASCI is one of the nation’s oldest medical honor societies and is among the few organizations focused on the special role of physician-scientists in research, clinical care, and medical education, as well as leadership positions in academic medicine and the life sciences industry.

Dr. Sumanth Prabhu, right, with fellow AAP inductee Dr. Deborah Veis of the Washington University School of Medicine.

The following evening, the Association of American Physicians held their 2023 induction ceremony, at which Division Chief Samanth Prabhu, MD was honored as an elected member.

The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physician Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Election to the AAP is an honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research and is limited to 70 persons per year. The AAP includes about 1200 active members and 700 emeritus and honorary members.